There’s just no telling how far I’ll go…

If your dreams do not scare you, they are not big enough.

I have always classified myself as a dreamer – someone who wholeheartedly believes in magic, fantasy and the impossible. Walt Disney was a dreamer – he had countless visions, fantastic and what could be considered absurd ideas. Walt’s journey was not an easy one as he faced many hardships, but he never lost sight of his dreams. At age 22, Walt was forced to declare bankruptcy on his studio. However, that did not stop him. It took Walt years of hard work, devotion and dreaming before things started turning around for him, thanks to the help of a very special mouse. The rest is history.

Walt possessed the courage to follow his dreams, and he took countless risks. Would Walt have become the pioneer of cartoon films and creator of Disneyland if he had not taken chances? My guess would be no. He went after what he believed in, what he dreamed in, and did what he believed he had to do. Now, what do Walt and I have in common? We are both dreamers, and apparently risk takers. Walt has always inspired me in many ways, but his journey has truly helped inspire my decision to go after my dreams – the dreams I have had since I was a little girl. With that being said, I am proud to say I have accepted a position with the Walt Disney Company, booked a one way flight to Orlando, and I am not looking back.

IMG_0386

Anybody that knows me knows of my deep passion for Disney. Well, some may call it an obsession, but I prefer passion. I embarked on a life changing journey almost two years ago – I began my journey on the Disney College Program. I use the words life changing because that is exactly what the program did for me, it changed my life. It was not until my time as a Cast Member that I realized the Walt Disney Company was the company for me. The Walt Disney Company was a company I could see myself pursuing a career in, a company that meant so much to me growing up, a company I truly loved. I made the difficult decision to return home after my program ended, however, I knew it was the smartest decision for me at the time. In return, I have learned more about myself the past year and a half than I could have ever imagined or hoped for. Even though I have grown, my dreams of working for my favorite company have not changed – they have only grown stronger.

I’ve never been one for “what if’s,” which made my decision to pursue my dream career at Disney a no brainer. I never want to look back on my life and wonder what could have happened if I built up the courage to follow my dreams. What would have happened if Walt decided to give up after he went bankrupt? Continuing to follow his dreams, no matter how big, after that was a risk, but he chose to do so. I know I am taking a risk, but I know it’s a risk I will never regret taking.

Is packing my bags, quitting a full-time job and moving to Florida to pursue a dream a smart decision? Absolutely not. In fact, it’s absolutely absurd. I know that. However, I know in my heart that this is the right path for me. This very well could be a step towards making my crazy, huge dream come true. I’m sure people looked at Walt and thought some of his decisions were absurd, just like I’m sure people will do the same to mine. Walt never gave up, and I’m not giving up either.

I’m a dreamer, and I’m hoping to find my “Mickey Mouse” soon. I firmly believe my upcoming role with Park Operations is setting me on the path to achieve my ultimate goals. I truly could not be happier to be moving back to the most magical place on earth where I will be creating magic and impacting lives daily. Always remember to keep dreaming, and never lose sight of your dreams.

 

7 thoughts on “There’s just no telling how far I’ll go…

  1. Craig Y says:

    Good for you, Danielle! Congrats on the new job. What will you be doing in Park Ops? As a former cast member myself, it is a particularly fulfilling occupation.

    Like

  2. The Animation Commendation says:

    You’re coming back to Florida and to Disney? So awesome! Wish you the best! Getting a job at Disney is one of my biggest dreams and I’ve tried for years to get something, but haven’t yet.

    Do you know what exactly you’ll be doing regarding Park Operations?

    Like

Leave a Reply

