Eulogy to Wishes: A Magical Gathering of Disney Dreams

Wishes can come true, if you believe in them with all your heart.
And the best part is, you’ll never run out of wishes.
They’re shining deep down inside of you.
‘Cause that my friends is where the magic lives

18449874_10154525628371629_504314831_n

Photo credit to Kelly Klupchak

For 14 years, Disney goers of all ages have watched the sky light up after long, yet exciting days at the Magic Kingdom with a magical gathering of Disney Dreams hosted by Jiminy Cricket. To many, Wishes was more than just a fireworks show, it was a constant reminder that all of our wishes and dreams can come true if we believe. Wishes, in a way, really captured the spirit and essence of Walt Disney. Walt said, “all of our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.” Well, isn’t that what the Wishes firework show is all about? Taking a chance, pursuing our dreams, and watching them come true? This, my friends, is one of the reasons why Wishes truly touched me, and why it also touched so many people, especially fellow cast members.

I will never forget the first time I watched Wishes with my roommates my first time in Magic Kingdom as a cast member. Something happened to me that night, and I was overcome with emotion. Working at Disney was a dream of mine ever since I was little, and in that moment, I had realized all that I had accomplished, and that my one wish was finally coming true because I believed. Listening to the wishes of Cinderella, Snow White, Ariel, Peter Pan, Pinocchio and Aladdin, I suddenly realized that these characters I had grown up watching over and over again were the ones who taught me to never stop dreaming or wishing. In that moment, I found where I was meant to be.

I must admit, working at the most magical place on Earth was not always glamorous. Wishes was always a reminder to me why I was there, and the magic I was creating. Every single night at Magic Kingdom, people of all ages would gather closely together on crowded streets waiting for the lights to dim, and the music of Wishes to begin. Every single night, little girls dressed in princess dresses with tired eyes would watch in awe as Tinkerbell floated across the sky, and fireworks filled the night sky. Standing in the middle of Main Street, I would look around and watch people’s reactions to a show that somehow meant much more to me than just a show, and everything made sense.

Wishes taught me that there are no limitations to my dreams, and anything is possible. It’s watching the unexpected happen, achieving something you did not think could be achieved, it’s believing in something more. “Just believe.” 

Thanks to Wishes, I will never stop dreaming, never stop believing, and never stop wishing. Wishes has given me memories that will last a lifetime with some of my closest friends, from the very first time I watched it in 2012 to my last in 2017. Thank you Wishes, for always reminding me on my toughest days to keep believing. I will never forget what just a little wishing can do.

One thought on “Eulogy to Wishes: A Magical Gathering of Disney Dreams

Leave a Reply

