Thank you Celebrate the Magic

“Disneyland is something that will never be finished. It’s something that I can keep developing. It will be a live, breathing thing that will need change. A picture is a thing, once you wrap it up and turn it over to Technicolor, you’re through. Snow White is a dead issue with me. But I can change the park, because it’s alive.” – Walt Disney

img_6544

Things are constantly changing within the Disney parks. Although that is exactly what Walt had envisioned, it does not make it any easier to say goodbye. It was recently announced that the nighttime show at Magic Kingdom, ‘Celebrate the Magic,’ would soon be replaced after a four year run by a new show ‘Once Upon A Time.’

To me, ‘Celebrate the Magic’ was so much more than just a nighttime projection show. It was a reminder of all the magic and enchantment that is alive at Walt Disney World every single day. The show begins with Tinkerbell and the lyrics…

“Celebrate a world filled with magic, just wish upon a star that shines so bright, enter a world of make believe, let your dreams come true tonight…”

A sketch of Walt and Mickey Mouse as Steamboat Willie is shown on the castle in black and white to remind us just exactly where this all started, with a man, a dream and a mouse. The simplicity of it with the lyrics “let your dreams come true tonight” always reminded me of Walt’s struggles and how hard he worked to achieve his dreams. To be standing in front of Cinderella’s castle and to look around and see everything that has come from a man and a dream always struck a cord with me.

The first time I ever saw “Celebrate the Magic” was after I had my official Cast Member “initiation” through Traditions. Being in Magic Kingdom for the first time as a Cast Member is a feeling I will never forget, and watching this nighttime show helped me realize for the first time all of the magic I was going to be creating. It was one of the moments that really hit me that my dreams of becoming a Cast Member were coming true.

The show is simple, yet meaningful to many who watch. To the guests who visit once or twice a year, it’s a mashup of their favorite Disney movies and beloved characters. However, to those who make magic as Cast Members, this show means a little more. As a Cast Member, I quite literally celebrated (and created) the magic every day.

So, thank you “Celebrate the Magic” for filling my heart with so much joy and overwhelming emotion during my six months as a Cast Member. The song, the memories and the magic will always stick with me. One last thing. Walt, I promise I will never lose sight of one thing, that it was all started by a mouse.

Video credit to Theme Park Review

 

Leave a Reply

