Disney College Program Bucket List Review

Prior to beginning my Disney College Program journey, I made myself a bucket list of all the things I wanted to get accomplished in my five months at the most magical place. Much to my surprise, I was able to do just about everything I wanted to do without even a single glance at the list during my entire program. GASP. To be honest, I was just having too much fun to keep track, but turns out, I finished ALMOST everything on this list.

First and foremost, eat dinner at Be Our Guest. Well, this was not hard to do. Being the obsessive and insane person that I am, I had half a dozen reservations for this restaurant BEFORE I even began my program, due to my fear and anxiety of not being able to get in. In the end, I got lucky and was able to have dinner with the master that very first weekend, one of my most memorable and magical moments of my entire program. This place will always be held close to my heart. My absolute favorite place on the planet.

Fill up an autograph book with all of the princesses. I was not able to fill up an ENTIRE book, mostly because I either forgot to bring the book with me, or I just downright refused to carry it around. I did get my three favorite princesses, AND Gaston’s autograph!

IMG_5860

Attend Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party dressed as Belle. I most certainly did this, and it was a wonderful night to remember. I spent weeks singing the parade song, “Boo To You.” Luckily, I was able to meet Belle dressed as Belle. Even though it was nearly impossible to find a suitable Belle costume, I made it work, and had a spook-tacular time.

IMG_6374

Attend Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party. I absolutely loved this Christmas celebration, filled with cheer, and even fake snow! I loved it so much that I went TWICE! Those cookies and hot chocolate could not keep me away. I was mostly excited to see Belle in her enchanted Christmas dress, and meet Rapunzel with Eugene!

Eat, and drink, around the world at Food and Wine Festival in Epcot. I was able to eat and drink in Italy, Japan, Greece, Mexico, and France, just to name a few. My favorite drink was the limoncello margarita from Italy, and I absolutely loved the spanakopita from Greece. This was such a great time, and really helped me fall in love with this park.

 

Eat at Cinderella’s Royal Table. This was a magical surprise I will never forget. I was able to eat breakfast inside of Cinderella’s castle with Cinderella, Ariel, Jasmine, Aurora, and Snow White. You really cannot explain the feeling of being able to look outside the window, and be able to see all of Fantasyland. This reservation was nearly impossible to snag, and happened so last minute… just some pure Disney magic.

Ride every ride in Magic Kingdom. Unfortunately, I was not able to ride EVERY ride at Magic Kingdom, although I certainly was there enough times to have been able to. I was able to do some things that I have never done, or had the time to do before, like ride the People Mover, visit Tom Sawyer’s Island, and drive in Tomorrowland’s Speedway. I blame Fantasyland, it was hard to take me away from there…

Visit every Walt Disney World resort. I did not visit every resort, but I did visit some that I have never seen, or been to before! The three resorts I spent the most time in were the Polynesian (clearly), the Grand Floridian, and the Contemporary… the monorail bunch. I was able to visit some new resorts, like Port Orleans Riverside, Coronado Springs, Art of Animation, and the Wilderness Lodge. All of the Disney resorts are so beautiful.

Watch ‘Wishes‘ from the Polynesian Beach. Little did I know, I would be spending a lot more time at the Polynesian than I could have ever imagined. I was lucky enough to be able to watch ‘Wishes’ from the Polynesian every night that I closed (which was 80% of the time.) Sometimes if I got out of work before the fireworks, I would hang out on the beach eating a dole whip to kill time before ‘Wishes.’ This was something that simply never got old for me.

IMG_5729

Watch ‘Illuminations‘ from Italy in Epcot. I did not watch ‘Illuminations’ from Italy, but I was able to watch these fireworks around the holiday’s right at the beginning of the world showcase. Although I have a sweet spot for ‘Wishes,’ these fireworks are enormous and immaculate.

Begin my very own Beauty and the Beast pin collection. Oh, I most certainly did this. A true addiction started. I now own over 40 Beauty and the Beast pins. No shame, no shame at all.

12736066_10153362797111629_1358088982_n

Succeed in the four parks in one day challenge. This was something I did my very first weekend of the program, the day after I got my main gate pass to be exact. I did this once, and one time only. It was a mistake doing this in the middle of August. It was exhausting, but I am glad I got this out of the way right at the beginning. For me, this was my first trip to Hollywood Studios, Animal Kingdom, and Epcot as a cast member, so it was a lot of fun. I started the day with an iced coffee, and ended the day with a margarita.

Dinner and a movie at the AMC Dine-In Theater at Disney Springs. This was such a fun experience. I wish we had one of these theaters where I’m from!

Attempt the Kitchen Sink at Beaches and Cream (not alone!) Sadly, this did not happen. I did go to Beaches and Cream once, and got a HUGE peanut butter cup sundae.

IMG_6504

Watch a sunset at Magic Kingdom. Oh, I saw many sunsets at Magic Kingdom. Florida sunsets are absolutely stunning, and there is no better place to watch a Florida sunset than at Magic Kingdom (or just Disney in general.)

Attend the filming of the Christmas Day Parade. I did have the option to go to this, but I decided to avoid the crowds and hop on over to a different park this day instead. The Christmas crowds were absolutely insane.

Draw a picture at the Animation Academy. Unfortunately, this closed before I arrived in August.

Work a shift in all four parks, ESPECIALLY in the new Fantasyland in Magic Kingdom. I only was able to pick up at two different locations, one being my dream location. I was able to pick up a shift at the Bonjour Gift Shop in New Fantasyland at Magic Kingdom, and it was absolutely magical. It was during a Halloween Party night, so I was able to watch the fireworks from Gaston’s Tavern at the village, and it was amazing. It was an 11 1/2 hour shift, but one of my favorite days I had working.

IMG_6828

Making a Disney College Program bucket list is a smart idea, and a good way to look back and reflect on all of the good memories you made. Time certainly flies by, and it is easy to lose track of time, but always try to go out and do what you want to do. You will not regret making the most of your time at the most magical place.

To see more pictures from my Disney adventures, follow my Instagram @danielleogo.

13 thoughts on “Disney College Program Bucket List Review

  1. Natalie says:

    I don’t blame you for collecting a lot of the Beauty and the Beast pins! (I would totally do that too!) 😉 It looks like you had such an awesome time, and you completed most of your DCP bucket list! Great post; I really enjoyed it!

    Like

  2. Melissa - PixiePointers.com says:

    What an amazing time you have had. I really enjoy reading your blog articles, they are so inspiring and you are a talented writer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

