Opening new doors and doing new things.

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors and doing new things because we’re curious… and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” – Walt Disney

IMG_7965

Well everyone, I’m back, and in more ways than one. I have returned to the blogging universe once and for all. Who would have thunk that living and working at Walt Disney World would be so time consuming? Of course, most of that was essentially my fault. When I was not working my 40-hour a week schedule, I was playing in the parks, but that all will be different now. After a lot of consideration, I decided that the best thing for me was to decline my extension, and come home to try and live in the real world. *sigh*

You see, living and working at Walt Disney World during the Disney College Program was a fantasy, a complete and utter fantasy. My motto for the Disney College Program was “Hakuna Matata.” You LITERALLY have no worries, at least I did not. I had no school, no real responsibilities besides my job, which I loved. It was by far the best five months of my entire life, and leaving was one of the hardest things I have ever had to do. As much as I loved my job, it was not getting me anywhere, especially after just graduating from a four-year college with a degree. I missed my major, I missed writing. I asked myself if extending my program in my same role, which was merchandise, was moving me forward in the right direction of where I wanted to be. Sadly, my answer was no. Working in merchandise at Walt Disney World gave me great experience, do not get me wrong, but not the experience that I needed to further my career.

My ultimate dream is to work for the Walt Disney Company, but not as a merchandise hostess. But instead, behind the scenes in a field that I love, public relations. In order to do so, I had to leave to get more experience (and make some more money.) Sure, I could have remained in merchandise my entire life and been able to live at Walt Disney World, but that is not reality, unfortunately. Living at Walt Disney World is a dream, and I am so glad I was able to live out that dream. See, I’m becoming a real adult!

Instead, I’ve become curious. Curious to see what else is out there. Curious to see where this road may lead me. So many things in my life are uncertain right now, but one thing I know is for sure. The Disney College Program gave me an experience I will never forget, and I know in my heart I will end up working for my favorite company again someday. Now, on to my next adventure, and time to find a new dream!

P.S. I apologize in advance for all the sappy, depressing Disney posts you will be getting from now on. I am currently job hunting, and having some severe Post Disney College Program Depression, so I have a lot of time on my hands… so be prepared for plenty of blogs about my wonderful five months, and how much I miss Magic Kingdom (and Be Our Guest, and Enchanted Tales with Belle, and Fantasyland…)

6 thoughts on “Opening new doors and doing new things.

  1. The Animation Commendation says:

    You turned down the extension? Oh well, you gotta do what you think is best 🙂 !

    I’m also kinda glad because now we’ll hear more from you on the blogging universe, lol! You’re from NY, right?

    I’m still trying to get a job at Disney and even applied for the DCP again the other day. Since this is my last year in univ, this is my last chance of getting that, lol!

    I was actually at Disney about 2 weeks ago with my cousins who came down to visit. We went to Magic Kingdom and made a brief Epcot stop.

    Like

Leave a Reply

