Disney College Program: Work & Fun

Well, I’m sure a lot of your reactions to seeing a new blog post from me is very similar to the reaction of Belle watching the Beast transform back into a human…

belle-beauty-and-the-beast-31201999-500-242

That whole, “it is you!” kind of thing. It is true, I have returned from a longer than expected (and longer than I had hoped for) hiatus from the blogging universe. I have been working anywhere from 35 to over 40 hours a week, and although that may seem like a lot, I truly am loving every minute of it. It has definitely been an adjustment for me, that’s for sure. For someone who used to be a morning person, working until midnight almost every night makes mornings not as pleasant as they used to be. However, I still wake up every morning with a smile on my face knowing that I am working for the Walt Disney Company at the most magical place on Earth.

JUST WHISTLE WHILE YOU WORK. 

Aloha, and welcome home to Disney’s Polynesian Village Resort! Working at Walt Disney World as a Cast Member is such an amazing, and rewarding, experience. I have found that the Walt Disney Company is unlike any company, and one of the reasons that it stands above the rest is because of the working Cast Members. I love working at a place where everyone is happy, friendly, and helpful. It is so hard to find people who love their jobs, and love where they work now a days. However, one trip to Disney could change that statistic entirely. My on stage presence has become my off stage presence, and I have Disney to thank for that. I have been given the opportunity to meet some great coordinators, leaders, and fellow Cast Members that all feel the same way that I do. Even though my days are often long, I always find myself smiling. I have fallen in love with the Polynesian Resort, and the entire atmosphere of this tropical paradise. One step inside this resort, and you feel as if you were immediately just transported to the Hawaiian islands. You will be greeted with floral leis, friendly smiles, and welcoming “Aloha’s!”

One of the biggest perks of my role as a Merchandise Cast Member at the Polynesian is the fact that I get to watch the Magic Kingdom fireworks show every single night. The music for the Wishes firework show, and for Mickey’s Not So Scary Hallo-wishes, plays out loud in the resort every night as the fireworks go off behind the castle. There is something so magical about Wishes, and the fact that I am able to watch them, and sing along, every night at work makes all the hard work and long hours worth it. I also get to pin trade with guests, and let me tell you, I have become way too invested into pins myself. Trading pins with guests may seem like such a small, insignificant act, but in a way it brings myself, the Cast Member, into another families memory. I also love the familiarity of working at a resort. I will see some guests several times during their stay at the Walt Disney World Resort, and they often remember me. That just proves that I am making a difference in their vacation, and hopefully adding to the magic.

Oh, and the Polynesian Resort is getting new Merchandise costumes!

I’m going from wearing this green dress to the blue top and skirt combo! In my opinion, this is one of the better options for merchandise costumes around Walt Disney World.

12084115_10153130754511629_1164744753_n ——> IMG_6397

IN EVERY JOB THAT MUST BE DONE, THERE IS AN ELEMENT OF FUN.

It is so hard for me to believe that I have been doing the Disney College Program for over a month and a half now. I think one of the reasons it is so hard for me to believe that is because I am no where near sick of the parks yet. Not even a little bit. I swear, I go to Magic Kingdom at least a couple times a week, and it still gives me this feeling of magic every time I step foot onto Main Street U.S.A. It still gets me every time I watch Wishes. It still gets me every time I watch the Festival of Fantasy parade, with the castle in the background. It still gets me every time I drive under the Walt Disney World sign that reads ‘Where Dreams Come True.’ My dream really is coming true, and I could not be happier.

Within the past month and a half, I have spent my birthday at Magic Kingdom, eaten in the Grand Ballroom at the Be Our Guest and tried the grey stuff (which I must say, was delicious!), toured the Grand Floridian’s Wedding Pavilion, went to all four parks in one day, saw Nick Jonas in concert at the House of Blues, celebrated Magic Kingdom’s 44th birthday, and attended Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party dressed as my favorite character, Belle. I have been having the time of my life here, and I thank God every single day for giving me this opportunity. Instead of telling you all about what I have done, I’m going to show you in visual memories.

STANDING HERE, IT’S ALL SO CLEAR, I’M WHERE I’M MEANT TO BE.

Being a Cast Member at Walt Disney World is just as magical as being a guest. In fact, I am able to be both a Cast Member and a guest, and it is wonderful. I have found that working here has made me an overall more friendly and outgoing person. This program has taken me out of my comfort zone in the best way possible, and it is only just the beginning. It takes people to make the dream a reality, and I am so honored to be apart of this Ohana.

IMG_5989

Make sure you stay apart of my adventure in the great wide somewhere through my Instagram & Snapchat accounts!

@DanielleOgo

15 thoughts on “Disney College Program: Work & Fun

  1. The Animation Commendation says:

    Whoa, it is you! Lol, glad to see you back blogging!

    And also glad you’re having such a wonderful time at the Polynesian! Orlando’s awesome, isn’t it? Then again, Disney is always even more awesome! Have you been to Disney Springs since you’ve come?

    Oh, I restarted my Twitter account about a month ago for my blog mostly, and I’ve followed you on there too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalie Davis says:

    I was just thinking that I wish you would blog tonight, and you did! I was very excited to see so! I am so happy for you, Danielle! Happy late birthday! I love your costume! It is awesome, and I also LOVE your Belle top and Belle phone cases! Your pics are awesome! I hope you have an awesome time for the next few months you are there! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • danielleogo says:

      Thank you so much, Natalie! I missed talking to you. Thank you thank you thank you. I am having so much fun, and learning so much at the same time. It’s an amazing experience. Belle is my absolute favorite. Enchanted Tales with Belle at the Magic Kingdom is my favorite attraction, I hope you have done it before! 🙂 I hope to be able to share more memories with you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Natalie Davis says:

        I missed talking to you, too! I haven’t been able to do it before, but I am planning to on my next trip to Disney!! That is awesome! (Belle is my fave also!) I am going to Disney World in December, and my family is eating at ‘Ohana! Maybe I might get to meet you on my trip!! 🙂

        Like

      • danielleogo says:

        That would be awesome! ‘Ohana is right near I work, so let me know when you will be coming down so you maybe you can pay me a visit at work! 🙂 That would be awesome to meet you! I’m very happy for you that you will be coming in December!

        Liked by 1 person

    • danielleogo says:

      Thank you so much, Mary! The DCP is everything I expected, and so much more. It’s so much fun, and I am learning so much at the same time! I love the Polynesian dresses too. I’m sure you know that some of the costumes here at Disney are not so flattering, so I am lucky to be wearing what I am! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • marywdw says:

        Yes, I have seen some of the other costumes, haha. It’s great to hear all the positive feedback about the program and how it is exceeding your expectations. Looking forward to more posts although I know you’re really busy there!

        Like

      • danielleogo says:

        I am really busy, and rarely have time for anything anymore! I spend every free minute I get either sleeping or at the parks, so it’s hard to keep up with this! I just want to take you all with me! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

