The Start of Something New: Traditions, Training, & More!

My Disney College Program adventure has finally begun, and I have been loving every single minute of it. If I’m not at work, I’m at the park. Seriously, I voluntarilly went to the Magic Kingdom four days in a row despite the busy August crowds. I have fallen completely and irrevocably in love with the New Fantasyland (I went to Enchanted Tales with Belle two days in a row, as if the show had changed.)

IMG_5875

Enchanted Tales with Belle!

My magical experiences at the Walt Disney Parks all started with the magical experience of Disney University’s Traditions class. This is where I became an OFFICIAL Walt Disney World Cast Member. I was granted a Walt Disney World blue identification card, which grants me unlimited access into the four Walt Disney World parks, and my name tag! This class is to be kept a little hush-hush, and is meant exclusively for Walt Disney World Cast Members. What I can tell you is that the building this class took place in, Disney University, was amazing, and filled with pictures on the walls representing so many of the company’s various works of art. What I can also tell you is that this class is truly magical. We learned about the company and Walt’s history, and we learned how to create magic. I cried at least twice. One of those times being when they showed us the ORIGINAL theatrical trailer for Beauty and The Beast. We then were given a backstage tour of the Magic Kingdom, which again, was magical.

My training to become a merchantainer at Disney’s Polynesian Village Resort has just begun, and I’m truly enjoying myself (and my costumes!) Not to brag, I just might have one of the best costumes on Disney property, and I am so thankful (and relieved!) You might be asking, what exactly is a merchantainer? Well, it is the combination of a merchandise cast member, and an entertainer. So little of my job is actually spent behind a register, and so much of it is entertaining and interacting with guests. There is about a week and a half of training I have to go through before I can be put on my own. On one of my first days of training, I learned how to hula dance, so I guess you can say my job is going to be pretty cool.

10608490_547572212040636_1949101424839280604_o

Disney’s Polynesian Village Resort is such a beautiful and majestic place, filled with TONS of history. This resort was opened on October 1, 1971, the same day exact day as Magic Kingdom. Disney’s Polynesian Resort was just one of two on-site resorts open on this day. This resort was one of the last things that Walt Disney touched, regarding the Florida project, before he died. I am so excited to be working at a resort that contains so much history, and is so much more than just a resort.

My work here is just getting started, and my job is to make magic, wherever I may be.

What ever you do, do it well. Do it so well that when people see you do it they will want to come back and see you do it again and they will want to bring others and show them how well you do what you do. — Walt Disney

11951147_10206259887408632_8389308338801728396_n

12 thoughts on “The Start of Something New: Traditions, Training, & More!

Leave a Reply

