How-To: Prepare yourself for the Disney College Program

The Disney College Program “gives participants valuable, on-the-job experience” at one of the most prestige companies in the world. From the time thatDCP-photo one applies and becomes accepted, there is about a five month waiting period. Although this may seem like a long time, the time truly flies by. Here I am, sitting on my bed writing this blog post with MY very own Disney College Program just weeks away.

There’s SO much to do in those five months, and the most crucial advice I could give is to not wait until the last minute. You will be so much less stressed about the entire experience if you start getting things together a couple of months in advance. For me, the minute I got accepted I started making lists of what I would need to buy. I wanted to buy things in increments, that way it wouldn’t seem like I was spending as much. Here I’ve complied some advice to prepare yourself for the Disney College Program, also what to expect during this waiting period, coming from someone who is currently experiencing it all first hand.

First and foremost, make lists. Make lists of what you KNOW you will need to buy and pack, and start searching for deals. I knew I needed a mattress pad topper, so I kept my eye out online for a sale, even if it was in March. I also bought my quilt comforter in May, giving myself plenty of time to find things to match it for my room. I advise a quilt comforter versus any other kind of comforter. These are light, and take up way less space. Think about it. You are spending five months in Florida. You do NOT want any extra coverage. I watched a lot of YouTube videos of apartment tours to get a visual idea of what I would need to bring, and I found this EXTREMELY helpful. You can steal ideas from other people regarding their room, and figure out where you want to put everything when you arrive!

You may be wondering when you will be hearing from Disney again after you have become accepted. Well, the answer is not for a while. My program starts August 17th, and the first email I received from them since my acceptance and that whole process was talking about education, and signing up for classes. You can begin to register for classes a little over a month before your program. I received an email from DORMS (Disney Onsite Resident Management System) on July 3rd discussing my Education options during my program. If you decide to take a class or seminar during your program, this email will give you all the information you will need to know about registration, and the classes themselves. Since I graduated this past May, I opted out of taking on a class.

dorms_logo

The next email I received from them was regarding my New Hire information. This came about exactly a month before my arrival date. I received one email with my User ID and step by step instructions, and another email retaining my password. This New Hire Portal Information is basically just looking over and signingNew Hire Portal Login Pageg important documents about the Disney Company. I’ve also heard through the grapevine that when you attain your New Hire Information is when they have officially placed you! The only downside is you cannot find that information out until check in day. There also is a place where you can sign up for direct deposit, and where you key in your banking information. It’s nice to know that will all be set up by the time I arrive in Florida. The
re’s also a pretty sappy video before you get started welcoming you to the Walt Disney Company.

After that, I received a few days after an email telling me to prepare for my arrival! This got me excited, because it made me realize that my check in date really is coming up fast. This email just gives you links from the on boarding website to important topics, including what you will need to bring with you on check in day, renter’s insurance, housing pre-registration, and more. It’s basically just a friendly reminder to get everything done BEFORE you come down.

CKTUQnZUYAE6O7Q.jpg-large

That’s where I’m at now. I’m in the midst of packing and getting things together. My room looks like a bomb went off, but that’s okay. I’m going to spend as much time with my family and friends that I can before I leave for the most magical place on Earth. The best way to prepare yourself for the change is to concentrate on the positives versus the negatives. Do not think about how you are going to be missing family events and holidays, but instead concentrate on all the amazing things you will be able to do, and concentrate on the life-changing experience and journey you are about to embark on.

5 thoughts on “How-To: Prepare yourself for the Disney College Program

Leave a Reply

