Ten years we’ve been rusting…

I am going to start out by saying that Beauty and the Beast is one of my all-time favorite films, and in my eyes is one of Walt Disney Picture’s best work. I have seen this film more times than I can count. With that being said, I have noticed several plot holes, some minor and some major, to the enchanted storyline. Most of these plot holes I realized only recently, so in the screenwriters defense, that is after watching this film hundreds of times. I try not to look for imperfections in this film, but some are difficult to look past. No matter how many plot holes, this film will always be one of my favorites, and I will always love the story between a beauty and a beast.bandb1-1

First major plot hole is… the age of the beast, and how long exactly has this curse been going on for? The film starts out talking about a young “spoiled, selfish, and unkind” prince living in a castle. One night, in the bitter cold, a old beggar woman came to the castle doors and asked for shelter in exchange for a single rose. The prince laughed in her face and told her to leave. She then transformed into a beautiful enchantress, but it was too late. She had placed a curse on the castle, transforming him into a beast and cursing all who resided there. The enhanced-buzz-31450-1384536153-17rose was an enchanted rose, and would continue to bloom until his TWENTY-FIRST year. Alright, fast forward a little bit to when Belle has entered the castle, and the song “Be Our Guest” is sung. Lumiere sings “ten years we’ve been rusting, needing so much more than dusting.” TEN YEARS. It is not too hard to do the math. The last peddle falls at the end of the film (spoiler alert!) meaning that the prince was close to 21 at the time. If they have been in the castle like that for ten years, that would make the young prince eleven years old. What the heck was an eleven year old prince doing ruling a kingdom, all alone in a castle? Who the heck places a curse on an eleven year old? I mean come on, who expects an eleven year old to let a stranger into the castle for the night? Aren’t we taught NOT to talk to strangers?

Going off of that, what is the picture of Prince Adam doing in the West Wing? There is a painting of the Beast as a human adult, but if the curse was placed on him when he was eleven, then what kind of time traveling is going on here? Trust me, I hate these plot holes just as much as the next person.

beastportrait

This is the biggest plot hole in the film, and I blame the song. All of this would be resolved without the one line in “Be Our Guest.” I even read the book “The Beast Within,” which was a background of how the Beast became the Beast, and this was not specified, and was slightly separate from the film’s storyline.

Along with that, there are a few minor plot holes in the film that are much easier to overlook. For example, what would have really happened if Belle touched that tumblr_n086bi9ieN1s49xrqo1_250enchanted rose in the West Wing? The Beast FREAKS OUT on her when she goes in to touch it, and what I’m wondering is what would have happened?

Another one is how can Chip exist? Was he born a cup? Who is his father? If they really have been cursed in the castle for ten years, Chip is much younger than ten. The only solution I could think of is that when the curse was enacted, time stood still for all the servants, including young Chip.

ALSO (sorry everyone), how does nobody in town know about this castle and this prince? If the Beast really was a prince, didn’t people know about him and the castle? He should have been ruling a kingdom, but instead he got changed into a beast and nobody knew he existed anymore? Again, the only solution I caThe_Mob_Songn think of is that the curse made everyone forget he even existed. That seems to be the only logical explanation.

I know this is just a fairytale, and that I should just overlook a lot of these plot holes, but after seeing this movie as many times as I have, it’s hard not to look too deep into it. I love the moral of this story of how beauty comes from within, and I love how Belle wants adventure and her love for reading. There are so many good aspects of this story that these plot holes seem insignificant while watching the film. I mean, after all, this 1991 film did win Academy Awards, Golden Globe Awards, and Grammy Awards, meaning that the screenwriters must have done something right.

tumblr_n12tebnTA91trmkp7o1_500

10 thoughts on “Ten years we’ve been rusting…

  1. bwayprincess says:

    Love the post! Beauty and the Beast holds a soft spot in my heart as well 🙂 Well spotted! You blog is my favourite haha x

    Like

  2. Natalie Davis says:

    Beauty and the Beast is my favorite Disney movie. I don’t think I ever noticed those plot holes, but now I am super confused. I read The Beast Within and got my last trip to Disney. I don’t think it wasn’t that great, because we only found out how he became the beast, not his life before, and I also don’t think we knew his thoughts at all. Have you ever read Fairest of All? I think it’s so amazing! It made like the wicked Queen more and made her my fave Disney villain. BTW, wonderful post!:)

    Like

    • danielleogo says:

      I agree with you about the book. I wish we learned a little bit more. I have not read any of the other books besides The Beast Within, just because that one sparked my interest the most. Thank you so much Natalie! I’m glad you enjoyed the post! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • danielleogo says:

      VERY GOOD QUESTION! I mean, we have to understand they are simply fairytales and we should take them for what they are… but sometimes questions like these are too hard to ignore!

      Like

  3. Chow Kim Wan says:

    I have noticed a couple of plot holes in Beauty a while back, but I’d like to thank you for posting this write-up, for I don’t think I would have been able to express it any better haha. They did correct the 21st year thing and the “ten years we’ve been rusting” lyric though when the show moved to Broadway. They just said “a long time” or something along those lines.

    Like

    • danielleogo says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed this! 🙂 I am so relieved to hear that they fixed the whole time issue. That, in my opinion, was the biggest plot hole and I’m surprised I did not catch it sooner.

      Like

Leave a Reply

