Disney College Program: Application and Acceptance Advice

So as I’ve already told you (in pretty much every single recent blog post,) I’ve been accepted into the Disney College Program Fall 2015! I have also applied for a couple of Professional Internships with Disney, and am waiting to hear back from those. I have had such a magical application, interview, and acceptance experience with the company for the DCP, and I wanted to share a few pointers with you if you are planning to apply yourself!

First, you will be asked to fill out some general information about yourself, your school, and your work history. This is all very basic information, and will just give them an idea of who you are and what you have done. You also have to put down none, low, moderate, or high interest for each possible role. DO NOT PUT DOWN LOW OR MODERATE INTEREST IF YOU REALLY HAVE NONE. They do not care if you put low or moderate for every single position. That will not make you look any better, or any more willing, than someone who was honest. I know from other people’s experience that they have been given low interest roles, simply because they marked it down. For example, if you REALLY do not want custodial, do NOT put custodial. I promise you, it will not hurt you. In my phone interview, they asked me some basic, general questions about all the roles I selected overall. If you put custodial down, they will consider you. I really pushed for my top two in my phone interview, and that’s what I got.

FullSizeRender

After that, if selected, you will be given a web-based interview. For me, this web-based interview came within hours of filling out the initial information, so keep an eye on your inbox. I was not expecting to get this so quickly. The web-based interview is nothing to stress about. Just answer honestly. Make sure you set aside at least 40 minutes to do this. You will be asked a variety of multiple choice, and scaled questions. The questions are just a way for the company to learn about your work ethics. I actually found this stage to be a little difficult, just because most of the answers for the questions were right, some just more right than others. You are given MORE than enough time to complete this, however, so do not worry about the timer. Just read the question, and answer honestly. Do not answer how you feel they would want you too. They will ask you questions about your work ethics, and how you would respond to certain situations. Also, they ask some questions about time management, and skills that are important for company.

FullSizeRender[1]

After that is completed, if passed, you will be sent directly to the phone interview sign up. They will give you a designated day, and give you time options for that day for your phone interview. In my case, I was given a few weeks to prepare, which I was happy about. I have my advice for my phone interview in a YouTube link, to which I explain the questions I was asked and how you can prepare for it. I was told at the end of the interview that I should expect to hear back at the end of March or early April, which would be over a month from my phone interview.

Be ready for questions such as “How can you benefit from participating in the Disney College Program?,” “How would the Disney College Program be beneficial for your future career?,” “Tell me about a time you have had to deal with a difficult customer and guest, and how you handled the situation.” “How would you react in an emergency situation with a guest?” “Do you have cash handling experience?” “Which roles do you feel as if you are most qualified for?”

FullSizeRender[2]

Then, exactly one week and a day after my phone interview, I received my email congratulating me on being accepted to the Disney College Program in a Merchandise role (one of my top picks). I’m not quite sure how this happened, and why I heard back earlier than most, but I’m by no means complaining. In my phone interview, I was asked specific PhotoPass questions, so I was expecting to get that. I am more than happy to be working in Merchandise, one of my top two choices. Do not be discouraged if they do not ask you about a role you are interested in during your phone interview. You will should still be considered!

FullSizeRender-9

After getting accepted, you are given a total of seven days to accept your position, and complete three steps. You must accept the position, pay the entrance fee, and then select your start up and departure dates. This really is not a difficult process, just more time consuming. The entrance fee is just a start-up fee of about $300, which includes your first few weeks of rent. This is the only fee you will be asked to pay for the program. Your rent will come directly out of your weekly pay check, so you will not even see it. I personally like this so much better. You do not have to stress about having enough for rent each month, because it will all be done for you. You are told to make sure you have at least 24 hours in between each step, just because it may take longer for some e-mail messages to be sent out. This was not a problem for me. I was able to complete all the steps in one night.

FullSizeRender[3]

Overall, the DCP is a great way to get your foot in the door with the Walt Disney Company. I am looking forward to the experience of this amazing opportunity. I have always wanted to study abroad, but never had the chance to. The DCP is in itself a job, resume enhancer, networking opportunity, internship, and in a way, study abroad all wrapped into one program. I know this will be an experience for me that I will never forget, and I am hopeful that this will open doors for me with my dream company!

IMG_4638I followed these steps, and what do you know? I’m going to DISNEY WORLD!

2 thoughts on “Disney College Program: Application and Acceptance Advice

    • danielleogo says:

      I’m actually not sure. I believe we are trained like regular cast members. We attend the Traditions, and learn the same things that every other cast member learns! I hope that helps! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

