From one Disney Cast Member to Another

Hi Disney fans! I figured I would give someone else the opportunity to get their voice heard on this blog for a change. If you are planning to participate in the Disney College Program, what better way to prepare than to hear some advice from a former Cast Member himself! Welcome to It’s A Great Blog After All, Zack!

Hello everybody! My name is Zack and I am one of Princess Danielle’s very best friends. She had asked me to write a little something about my time in the Disney College Program. I participated in the program in the Fall of 2012 and let me tell you, it was the best experience of my life! I worked in the Merchandise Role in Disney’s Animal Kingdom, more specifically Dinoland U.S.A.! I made life long friends during this program.

Here are some tips to help you make the most of your time as a DCP Cast Member:

  • Go to the Parks!

IMG_2028

If you are a Disney fan, then you will appreciate this even more with your Disney ID… you get into the parks for FREE! This, for me, was the best part of the program. You can literally go to the parks whenever you want! Get out of work at 5:00? Then head over to Magic Kingdom for dinner and fireworks! Don’t work until 6:00? Head over and watch the 3 o’clock parade. You have total freedom to go to the parks as much as you would like. When are you going to be able to get into Magic Kingdom for free again?

  • Take advantage of your Discount!

Once you start working, you can use your Disney ID to receive discounts on merchandise! Being a huge fan of Disney Pins (and well basically everything), I took advantage of this every day! Once the holiday season rolls around, your discount gets bigger! During this time I had a 40% discount on merchandise. And let me just say, the “holiday season” started around Columbus Day and ran through the rest of my program in January!

  • Bring your car!

One thing you’re going to want to do is bring your car. Yes, Disney provides transportation for CP’s to get around to property, but believe me when I say you are going to want your own car. Living on the bus schedule is never fun, ESPECIALLY during the holiday season! I was lucky enough to have three roommates with cars, so for grocery trips to Walmart that came in handy. If you have the opportunity, bring it. It is 1,000% worth it.

  • Enjoy the seasons!

    The Osborne Lights during Christmastime in Disney's Hollywood Studios

    The Osborne Lights during Christmastime in Disney’s Hollywood Studios

You can choose to have your Disney experience in the Spring or Fall. During both of these times, there are special events happening at the Walt Disney World Resort. In the Spring, you can experience events such as Epcot’s Flower and Garden Festival, and Star Wars Weekends at Disney’s Hollywood Studios. In the Fall, make sure you go to Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party and Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Party, both at Magic Kingdom on select nights.

12 thoughts on “From one Disney Cast Member to Another

  1. Chow Kim Wan says:

    Wow, the DCP sure sounds cool! Too bad we don’t have such a program in Asia. Our only Disney park now is Hong Kong Disneyland, and I am currently not residing in Hong Kong (though I visit the place frequently still).

    Like

      • danielleogo says:

        The DCP is a paid internship experience where you work in various roles for Disney at WDW or Disneyland. It’s a great experience, and looks great on a resume. You basically live in WDW from August-January. It kind of is like studying abroad, but in Disney!

        Like

Leave a Reply

